Programme Directors

Charlie 1

 Mr Charlie Cawood

After completing his Diploma at Natal Technicon, Charlie began his working career in community pharmacy at Peoples Pharmacy in Durban as an intern, before progressing to managing a community pharmacy and undertaking post-graduate studies in business management. During these post graduate studies, Charlie shifted his focus to pharmaceutical manufacturing, wholesaling and marketing before returning to community pharmacy. Read more.









Prof Patrick

  Prof Patrick Demana

Prof Patrick Demana is currently a full professor and head of department of pharmacy at the University of Limpopo. Prior to this, he was a Senior Lecturer at the Department of Pharmacy at Tshwane University of Technology, and was a Lecturer at Wits University. His experience also extend to pharmaceutical industry where he has worked in pharmaceutical companies including Aspen, MSD, Sanofi- Aventis, Ranbaxy, and Alliance.Read more.







Vusi Dlamini

Mr. Vusi C. Dlamini

Mr. Vusi C. Dlamini is currently the Director of Pharmaceutical Services in the Department of Health in KwaZulu-Natal. He graduated with the Bachelor of Pharmacy at the University of Durban-Westville (now the University of KwaZulu-Natal (Westville Campus). Mr. Dlamini was a Responsible Pharmacist for about seven years before promotion to policy environment position. Read more.









Prof Thirumala Govender

Prof Thirumala Govender is currently Professor of Pharmacy in the Discipline of Pharmaceutical Sciences, Academic Leader/Head of the Discipline of Pharmaceutical Sciences, Head of the Drug Delivery Research Proto-Unit and Head of the NanoHealth Pillar of the UKZN Nanotechnology Platform at UKZN. She was awarded a Commonwealth Scholarship and completed a PhD at University of Nottingham (UK). Read more.










Ms Helen Hayes

After graduating from Rhodes University in 1983, Ms Hayes practiced in a diverse range of public sectors facilities including deep rural, academic and district hospitals. She gained extensive experience as a ward pharmacist, specifically in Intensive Care Units. In 2008, she was appointed as the Western Cape representative to serve on the National Department of Health’s Bid Specification and Evaluation Committees for Pharmaceutical Contracts. Read more.






T Mphaka

Mr Tshepo Mphaka

Mr Tshepo Mphaka holds a Bachelor of Pharmacy degree obtained from the University of Limpopo ( former University of the North). He is currently serving as a Senior Manager Pharmaceutical Services in the North West Department of Health. His key responsibilities are the provision of strategic leadership and direction to the Directorate which is responsible for, amongst others, policy development and implementation , professional services, pharmaceutical HR provision and development, pharmaceutical monitoring and evaluation, provision of pharmaceutical and medical supplies etc.  Read more.


Johan Raats

Mr Johan Raats

Mr Johan Raats is the owner of Porterville Pharmacy (Porterville) and practicing PCDT pharmacist. He is a Fellow of the PSSA (1992) as well as Honorary Life Member of the PSSA National and the PSSA (CWP) Branch. Johan was the past Chairperson of the CPS Sector PSSA (CWP) Branch and member of the Branch Committee. Further to this Mr Raats is a Member PSSA-CWP Branch; and was Chairman of the PSSA Boland Branch 1995-1997 and President of the PSSA for 2001-2003. Read more.






Mr Ayanda Soka


Ayanda Soka obtained his B. Pharm Degree from University of Western Cape in 2001 and obtained a distinction in his pre-registration examination. He subsequently completed his Masters Degree in Business Management and Administration (MBA) from University of Stellenbosch Business School, with distinctions in General Management and Change Management. He recently graduated from University of Pretoria with Post Graduate Diploma in Health Systems Management.  Read more.






Ms Nocawe

Ms Nocawe Thipa

Nocawe Thipa is the acting CEO: Gauteng Medical Supplies Depot and Chief Director: Gauteng Pharmaceutical Services & Clinical Support Services.  She represents the Gauteng Province at the National Essential Medicine List Committee. She is a Ministerial appointee to the South African Pharmacy Council where she serves as a treasurer as well as a trustee in the Council’s Board of Trustees. Read more.







Sandra van Dyk

Prof Sandra van Dyk

Prof van Dyk obtained her BPharm, MSc and PhD degrees from the North-West University and has been in the employ of the NWU since 1985.  She is currently an Associate Professor in Pharmaceutical Chemistry and the director of the School of Pharmacy, Faculty of Health Sciences. Sandra is both an academic scholar and a registered pharmacist.  As an academic in the field of Pharmaceutical Chemistry she has twenty six years of experience in undergraduate teaching-learning and she has trained several postgraduate students and contributed to a number of publications, national and international conferences.  . Read more








  Dr Humphrey Zukisa Zokufa

Managing Director Board of Healthcare Funders of Southern Africa (BHF), since November 2005. Humphrey Zukisa Zokufa holds a Bachelor of Pharmacy degree from the University of the North, a Doctor of Pharmacy degree and a Post-doctoral Fellowship from the University of Minnesota, St Paul Ramsey Medical Center, Minneapolis, USA.   These studies were funded by the Fulbright Program administered by the American Embassy in South Africa.  Read more










Go to top